LLM Scholarships for Women

International women legal professionals looking to earn an LLM may be interested in LLM scholarships for women. Fortunately, there are a number of these scholarships provided by institutions aiming to help women, who are often underrepresented in law, earn the advanced degrees in order to further their careers. There are LLM scholarships for women lawyers and law students from countries all around the world. Below, we have compiled a list of scholarships that should be considered by women who want assistance with the expenses associated with obtaining the degree in the U.S. (Note: You can see more LLM scholarships for women and men at our LLM Scholarships page.)

American Association of University Women 

Provider: AAUW

Amount: $18,000 for Master’s / First Professional Degree


  • Women that are non-U.S. citizens or residents
  • Must have the equivalent of a bachelor’s degree
  • Must have applied to proposed institution

Application Requirements

  • Application form
  • Filing fee of $30 (nonrefundable)
  • Supporting documents
  • Official transcripts
  • Proof of bachelor’s degree
  • Proof of doctorate degree (postdoctoral applicants only)
  • Official report of TOEFL test scores or request for waiver
  • Letter of admission
  • Acknowledgment postcard

Contact information: 

AAUW Fellowships and Grants
C/O ACT, Inc.
P.O. Box 4030
Iowa City, IA 52243-4030

Dorothy Marcus Senesh Fellowship

Provider: International Peace Research Association Foundation

Amount: $5,000/yr for two years


  • Women who are following a program of “peace studies”
  • Must be a resident or citizen of a country in the “developing world”

Application Requirements

  • Application form
  • Letter of acceptance into desired program of study

Contact information:

Dr. Linda M. Johnston, President of the IPRA Foundation
Kennesaw State University
1000 Chastain Road
Mail Drop #9114
Town Point, Room 2400, Kennesaw, GA 30144-5591
Email: seneshfellowship@iprafoundation.org

College Women’s Association of Japan 

Provider: CWAJ

Amount: ¥3 Million


  • Women who are citizens or special permanent residents of Japan
  • Must have a 4-year degree from a Japanese university
  • Applicants must be accepted in a graduate degree program at an accredited, English speaking university or research institution abroad.
  • Applicants who have studied abroad at the college level in an English-speaking institution for more than a total of two (2) academic years are ineligible.
  • Holders of scholarships greater than ¥1.5 million from other scholarship programs (kigyo ryugaku) are ineligible.
  • Former recipients of CWAJ awards and CWAJ members are ineligible.

Application Requirements

  • Must submit a TOEFL or IELTS score from a test taken after October 1, 2011 of at least 600 (CBT 250, IBT 98) for TOEFL and 7.0 for IELTS.
  • Interviews for selected candidates

Contact information: 

CWAJ Center
2-24-13-703 Kami-Osaki,
Shinagawa-ku, Tokyo 141-0021
Email: scholarship@cwaj.org

Yvonne Smith Scholarship

Provider: Yvonne A.M. Smith Charitable Trust

Amount:  $50,000


  • The applicant must be either a New Zealand citizen or a permanent resident in New Zealand. The tertiary institution to be studied at may be situated overseas.
  • The applicant should demonstrate the likelihood of the qualification being sought to be of benefit to New Zealand.

Application Requirements

  • Application form
  • Character and academic ability references
  • Personal statement

Contact information:

Yvonne A M Smith Charitable Trust Limited
C/- Fortune Manning
P O Box 4139
Auckland 1010 
New Zealand
Attention: W A Duncan
Phone: 915 2425
Fax: 915 2402

CFUW Dr. Alice E. Wilson Awards 

Provider: Canadian Federation of University Women

Amount: $5,000


  • Women who are residents or citizens of Canada

Application Requirements

  • Letter of acceptance into desired program
  • Other requirements to be posted after May 1, 2014 at this link.

Contact information: 

CFUW National Office
331 Cooper Street, Suite 502
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada K2P 0G5
Phone: 613-234-8252
Fax: 613-234-8221

Betty Dunlop, Fellowships Program Manager
fellowships@cfuw.org, 613-234-8252, ext. 104

Margaret McNamara Memorial Fund Grants

Provider: Margaret McNamara Memorial Fund

Amount:  $12,000

Must be a woman who:

  • Has a record of service to women and children and a commitment to improve the lives of women and children in developing countries
  • Resides in the U.S. or Canada at the time she submits the application
  • Is enrolled (in residence) at an accredited U.S. or Canadian educational institution for the academic year 2013-14, and intends to be enrolled for the 2014-15 academic year
  • Will use the grant toward the completion of her degree
  • Is a national of a lower or middle income developing member country, as designated by the MMMF Country Eligibility List
  • Is not a U.S. or Canadian citizen, permanent U.S. resident or Canadian Landed Immigrant
  • Intends to return to her country (or other developing country) within two years of completing use of the MMMF grant and perform at least two years of service
  • Demonstrates financial need and satisfactory academic performance
  • Is at least 25 years old by December 31, 2013
  • Is not related to a World Bank Group staff member or his/her spouse

Application Requirements

  • Application form
  • Two recommendations
  • Copy of your passport picture page;
  • Copy of your U.S. or Canada visa/study permit;
  • Copy of your official transcript from your current university only (if your program is for research and without grades, a progress report from a supervising professor must be submitted), with institutional seal and Registrar’s signature;
  • Official confirmation of registration in your academic institution for the current semester, with institutional seal and Registrar’s signature. Acceptance letters are not needed and do not substitute proof of registration/enrollment documents.
  • One (1) passport-size photograph.

Contact information: